New York State law prohibits the use of a handheld mobile phone or portable electronic device while driving. Despite this ban, drivers are pulled over all the time for activities like the following:
- Talking on a handheld phone
- Reading, composing, and/or sending text messages
- Surfing the Internet
- Viewing, taking, and sending photos
- Playing electronic games
Even though first-time offenders can be fined up to $200 for texting and driving, New Yorkâ€™s streets and roads are still danger zones, with distracted driving causing hundreds of accidents every year. The problem is also national in scope: at any given moment during the day, nearly 660,000 drivers are using handheld devices while driving.
Nearly 10% of all drivers in the 15 to 19-year-old age group who were involved in fatal car accidents were allegedly distracted at the time: this same demographic has the biggest proportion of drivers who were distracted when the accident occurred. New York has responded by adopting harsher penalties for young drivers with learner’s permits and junior licenses: Governor Cuomo passed a law that would result in a 60-day suspension of a young driverâ€™s license if they are caught using a phone or handheld device behind the wheel.
Many people regard texting and driving as â€œno big dealâ€ because â€œeveryone does it,â€ but the reality is that a few seconds of distraction is all it can take for someoneâ€™s life to be changed forever. The outcome of a distracted driving accident can range from minor cuts and bruises to broken bones, burns, and traumatic brain or spinal cord injuries. Coma and even death can be the ultimate result.
If you have reason to believe that your accident and resulting injuries were caused by the other driver using an electronic device behind the wheel, contact a New York personal injury attorney immediately. A lawyer with experience in texting and driving injury cases will attempt to uncover evidence of distracted driving by:
- Reviewing police reports
- Interviewing witnesses
- Subpoenaing cell phone records
As in all other major auto cases, you need to file a no-fault claim directly after the accident to protect your rights to medical coverage and other applicable compensation. Your attorney can assist you with this step while they prepare compelling arguments and use every applicable resource to get you and your loved ones the compensation you are entitled to.
When someone drives so carelessly that you are injured, or a loved one is killed, you deserve the maximum amount of damages available for your circumstances. An experienced New York personal injury attorney will help ensure that justice is served on behalf of yourself and anyone else who has been injured as a result of reckless and negligent driving.