According to the New York Department of Health, between 2012 and 2014, an average of 1,098 people were killed in accidents on state roads per year. There were also approximately 12,093 hospitalizations and 136,913 emergency department visits per year.
New York State law requires all cars registered in the state to carry the following minimum liability coverage:
- $10,000 for property damage in an accident
- $25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for death
- $50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death when two or more people are in an accident
Failure to do so can result in your registration being suspended and loss of your driver’s license.
If you are struck by a negligent driver, then you need their insurance information in order to make a claim against their insurer. How do you get it?
When two or more drivers are involved in an accident, it’s customary to exchange insurance information. Write down the following information:
- The driver’s name and contact information
- Their car’s license plate number
- The name of their insurance provider
- Their policy number
In most cases, this information exchange goes relatively smoothly, but sometimes you run into an uncooperative driver. If they have something to hide or don’t want to add another strike to an already-spotty driving record, then they may refuse to present proof of insurance and even drive away. If that happens, then call the police.
Call law enforcement
In New York, any accidents involving injury or death must be reported to the police immediately. When officers arrive, they will take statements from everyone involved in the accident and get insurance information from all drivers. You can request a copy of the police report and provide it to a personal injury attorney who will help you pursue compensation for your injuries.
If the other driver leaves before the police arrive, then note the make and model of their vehicle and try to take a picture of their license plate. Report the collision as a hit and run and provide the police with the other driver’s license plate information. They will track down the driver and/or the owner of the car, making it easier to get the necessary insurance details.
What if the driver is uninsured?
If the driver who hit you is uninsured, then you must file a claim with your own insurance company. State law requires you to carry uninsured motorist coverage, which will cover losses when you are injured by a driver who is uninsured or has a policy limit that is too low.
When a negligent driver causes you to be injured or lose someone you love, contact a New York personal injury attorney immediately. Your attorney will deal with all insurers on your behalf and help you present a case that results in the settlement or award that you need.
Contact the law offices of Jayson Lutzky, P.C. to set up a free in-person initial consultation if you were injured in a motor vehicle accident. Mr. Lutzky is a Bronx, New York accident and personal injury attorney with over 36 years of experience. Call 718-514-6619 to learn more or visit www.MyNewYorkCityLawyer.com.